Home > Internationalization > Partner Universities

Wayne State University


Detroit, USA

Founded in 1868, Wayne State University is a nationally recognized metropolitan research institution offering more than 370 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges to nearly 29,000 students. Wayne State’s main campus in Midtown Detroit comprises 100 buildings over 200 acres; its six extension centers offer higher education to students throughout Southeast Michigan.

Wayne State is dedicated to preparing students to excel by combining the academic excellence of a major research university with the practical experience of an institution that by its history, location and diversity represents a microcosm of the world we live in.

Urban mission

As a nationally recognized urban public research university, Wayne State's mission is to create knowledge and prepare a diverse body of students to excel in an increasingly complex and global society.

Our vision

Wayne State University’s vision is to become the model public research university engaged in the urban community.

Our goals

Five specific goals result from Wayne State’s strategic vision for the university. These goals articulate its aspirations and provide a framework for the way in which its new plan will be translated into action.

Wayne State University has pledged to:

Promote an exceptional learning experience.

Improve the university’s stature as a nationally-ranked research institution.

Nurture a strong and dynamic campus community.

Sustain our role as an engaged university in an urban environment.

Diversify and broaden the university’s funding base.

Wayne State intends to remain one of the nation’s most respected public research universities, and feels that these goals provide a way to make that happen. National recognition is not an end in itself; what matters most is how Wayne State’s progress as shaped by these goals will position the university to benefit its students and, ultimately, its city, state, nation and the world.


Since 1915, Wayne State University has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, one of six regional accrediting agencies in the United States that provides accreditation to colleges and universities at the institutional level.

Academic programs are accredited through their respective national professional organizations.